Review of The Cleansing by Danielle Tara Evans

Global warming! This is something we all hear about regularly. Every day there is new information describing how we are ruining our planet. Every action we take has a reaction. In The Cleansing, global warming advanced far enough that many natural disasters, of epic scale, ravaged the planet and killed millions. In this dystopian future, the U.S. is largely to blame for the harm caused to our planet. Americans are disliked and the story paints a very gloomy future for any American citizen. U.S. soldiers are even used as nothing more than fodder in the American Military. I found the concept very interesting.

The characters were well developed. I could feel the pain Annie endured. I felt I could relate to both John and Annie as the story progressed, and I had to know how the story concluded. I also felt Katja was a very interesting character as well.

The story flowed smoothly and it quickly drew me in. I found very few points were I felt it dragged. In fact the other night I went to bed late and knew I had to get to bed, but I couldn’t. I had to finish the last 30% before I could go to sleep. And the ending…well I don’t want to spoil it. I have to admit I was a little surprised.

Danielle Tara Evans did a magnificent job with this novel, and I definitely look forward to the sequel, The Revolt.

I give this book 4 out 5 stars and would highly recommend it, especially if you are looking for a story that will pull you in, unfortunately, you won’t want it to end.

I was given a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, which in no way affected my review.

 

Leave a Reply

