Poem 2 – The Dirt

So, here is the second poem I chose to edit for my class. If you don’t know what I am talking about, read my previous post, lol. I am always looking for feedback, so please give me some.

Impractical people,
permeating Earth,
hoarding wealth
and possessions,
like they can take
them to the afterlife.
Money doesn’t travel with
them, nor will their assets,
or other accumulations.
So why so much effort
to hoard these in life?
When life snuffs out,
each person the same.
Status won’t matter
nor the wealth they
made during their life.

I will reclaim them
because they are mine.
No place to escape,
nowhere they can hide.
Their fate always the same.
From the Earth they come,
part of the Earth I am.
Their corpse planted in me,
or burned, tossed in the wind.
One with me they become.

Leave a comment